Skip to product information
1 of 1

JIVE Records

A Tribe Called Quest "Midnight Marauders" LP

A Tribe Called Quest "Midnight Marauders" LP

Regular price $22.98 USD
Regular price Sale price $22.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Hello, this is your Midnight Marauder program. I am on the front of your cover.
I will be enhancing your cassette and CD with certain facts that you may find beneficial.
The average bounce meter for your Midnight Marauder program will be in the area of 95 bpm.
We hope that you will find our presentation precise, base-heavy, and just right.

The album Tribe Called Quest wanted to make from the very beginning. It's their most even, consistent album of the original trilogy that also includes People's Instinctive Travels... and the Low End Theory. But in spite of this, or maybe because of it, it's also their most uninteresting. With so many competent tracks, there's no chance for something to stand out above the pack, like "Scenario" did on Low End Theory or "Can I Kick It" did on People's Instinctive Travels. The celebration is there ("Stir It Up"), the jazz drums kick ("Oh My God"), and the stand-up bass dribbles, keeping perfect pace with Q-Tip's unmistakable mic-touch ("Electric Relaxation"). There's even a Native Tongues armistice/reunion with de la Soul ("Awards Tour"). Although it comes together like a seamless tutorial in jazz hip-hop style, it comes together so damn well that it's hard for any one track to excel, cursing the album with consistent quality.


1. "Midnight Marauders Tour Guide"
2. "Steve Biko (Stir It Up)"
3. "Award Tour"
4. "8 Million Stories"
5. "Sucka Nigga"
6. "Midnight"
7. "We Can Get Down"
8. "Electric Relaxation"
9. "Clap Your Hands"
10. "Oh My God"
11. "Keep It Rollin'"
12. "The Chase, Part II"
13. "Lyrics to Go"
14. "God Lives Through"

View full details