Skip to product information
1 of 1

Bacchus Archives

The Avengers VI "Real Cool Hits" LP

The Avengers VI "Real Cool Hits" LP

Regular price 105,00 DKK
Regular price Sale price 105,00 DKK
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Avengers VI were a clean-cut surf band from Anaheim, California., whose one and only album, REAL COOL HITS, was issued in 1966 as a promo for Good Humor ice cream. The group's name wasn't even mentioned on the cover although it was pictured on the kick drum. The LP, originally issued on the Mark 56 label, was sold from the Good Humor ice cream trucks and has since become a highly-valued collector's item. What set the Avengers VI apart from many of the other surf groups was their superior musicianship. Guitarist Jim Ferguson was reported to practice eight hours a day while organist Mike DeYoung had formal musical training and a wide knowledge of classical music. The group's repertoire, which encompassed covers of popular surf instrumentals, mood music, movie themes and some first rate originals, attracted both teens and adults to their appearances in southern California.


  • 1 Heartbeat
  • 2 Downtown
  • 3 Mr. Lucky
  • 4 None But the Brave
  • 5 The Avenger's Stomp
  • 6 Slaughter on the 10th Ave
  • 7 Pipeline
  • 8 Summer Place
  • 9 Peter Gunn
  • 10 Time Bomb
  • 11 Hall of the Mountain King
  • 12 Coming Home Baby
  • 13 Sahara
View full details